The Four Corners is a unique part of American geography. Four states—Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico—meet in one single location, known as the Four Corners Monument. This is a fun photo opportunity for the family and the only chance to say “I’ve been in four states at once!”

After the Mexican-American War, the newly acquired landmass was divided into the four states we know today. Unlike most states whose borders are defined by rivers or the topography, the four states were drawn with perfectly vertical and horizontal lines intercepting to form the Four Corners Monument.

RELATED: 210,000 Acres of Canyons at Dinosaur National Monument

Four Corners Rita Quinn Live ROAMING RITA (Flickr)
Photo Credit: Rita Quinn Live ROAMING RITA (Flickr)

The monument is signified by a concrete square, with the names of each state engraved on the borders. Grand Circle, the largest concentration of national parks in America, surrounds the Four Corners Monument.

RELATED: The 13 Weirdest Colorado Hikes

The Four Corners also mark the boundaries between two Native American tribes, Navajo Nation and Ute Mountain Ute Tribe. The Navajo Nation preserves the monument as a tourist attraction.

The Monument has a $5 fee for guests 6 years and older. It is open from:

  • May 1 – Sept 30: 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
  • October 1 – April 30: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day

What We Believe

We are driven by our deep respect for our environment, and our passionate commitment to sustainable tourism and conservation. We believe in the right for everyone - from all backgrounds and cultures - to enjoy our natural world, and we believe that we must all do so responsibly. Learn More