How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 5]

Map of Colorado State.

Every true Coloradan has made the trek up at least one 14er, some have made the trek up all of them. While the “official” number of 14ers is still debated from time to time, we did the research to determine where the 53 most legitimate ones got their names. For tips on how to climb and where to find each 14er, just click the links! Enjoy!

1. Snowmass Mountain – 14,099 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 5]

Snowmass Mountain, CO.

Snowmass Mountain was named for the massive snowfield that tends to hang around on its eastern slopes. Don’t confuse this with Aspen’s Snowmass ski area though, they’re different places.

2. Sunlight Peak – 14,065 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 5]

Sunlight Peak, CO. Photo Credit: Evil.Satellite.

Named in the early 1900s, Sunlight Peak‘s namesake is simply descriptive. There’s a lot of sunlight here, like everywhere else in Colorado.

3. Sunshine Peak – 14,007 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 5]

Sunshine Peak, CO. Photo Credit: Dean Barto.

The lowest of the official 53 Colorado 14ers, Sunshine Peak is another mountain whose name is most likely just descriptive. It’s another high altitude destination known for it’s immense amount of sunlight.

4. Tabeguache Peak – 14,162 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 5]

Tabeguache Peak, CO. Photo Credit: David Herrera.

Pronounced Tab-a-watch (or sometimes Tab-a-wash), Tabeguache Peak is named after the local Ute people group, translating directly to “People of Sun Mountain.”


5. Torreys Peak – 14,274 feet

Known for being close to Denver, as well as Grays Peak, Torreys Peak was named after botanist John Torrey by his friend Charles C. Parry, the first man to ascend to the summit.


6. Uncompahgre Peak – 14,321 feet

One 14er with name origins not entirely known, Uncompahgre is a word from the Ute language of which two translations are “red water spring” and “dirty water.”


7. Wetterhorn Peak – 14,021 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 5]

Wetterhorn Peak, CO.

Wetterhorn Peak is named after another mountain of the same name in the Swiss Alps due to its similar pointed rock shape. Nearby Matterhorn Peak is also named after a mountain in the Swiss Alps for the same reason.

8. Wilson Peak – 14,023 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 5]

Wilson Peak, CO.

Much like Mount Wilson, Wilson Peak is named after A.D. Wilson, the chief cartographer on the Hayden surveys, an effort during the mid 1800s that documented many peaks in the Rockies.

9. Windom Peak – 14,093 feet

Windom Peak was named after William Windom, a senator in Minnesota from 1889 to 1891.

Curious about more 14ers? Keep on reading through the links below:

[Part 1] Blanca Peak – Handies Peak

[Part 2] Humboldt Peak – Mount Bross

[Part 3] Mount Columbia – Mount Princeton

[Part 4] Mount Shavano – San Luis Peak


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.