How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Map of Colorado State.

Every true Coloradan has made the trek up at least one 14er, some have made the trek up all of them. While the “official” number of 14ers is still debated from time to time, we did the research to determine where the 53 most legitimate ones got their names. For tips on how to climb and where to find each 14er, just click the links! Enjoy!

1. Mount Shavano – 14,235 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Mount Shavano, CO. Photo Credit: Jeff Mitton.

Nestled between the Continental Divide and the Arkansas River, Mount Shavano is named after Ute Chief Shavano.

2. Mount Sherman – 14,043 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Mount Sherman, CO.

Known for lying close to Leadville and for the many nearby mines, Mount Sherman is named after General William Tecumseh Sherman. General Sherman is most noteworthy for his many successes with the Union during the Civil War.

3. Mount Sneffels – 14,150 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Mount Sneffels, CO.

One of the most photographed mountains in Colorado and the highest point in Ouray County, Mount Sneffels was named after a volcano in Iceland. This is because the western side of Mount Sneffels looks like a volcanic crater.

4. Mount Wilson – 14,252 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Mount Wilson, CO.

Like many mountains named after the first person to conquer them, Mount Wilson is named after A. D. Wilson, an American cartographer. Interestingly enough, when he summited in 1874, he took a route up the south ridge that’s so difficult, it’s rarely used today.

5. Mount Yale – 14,200 feet

Another Collegiate Peak 14er that’s easy to guess, Mount Yale was named after Yale University.


6. Mount of the Holy Cross – 14,011 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Mount of the Holy Cross, CO.

At certain times of the year, it’s very easy to see how Mount of the Holy Cross got it’s name. It comes from the giant cross-shaped snowfield that spans it’s most famous face.

7. Pikes Peak – 14,115 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Pikes Peak, Colorado

Once called El Capitan, Pikes Peak was renamed to honor Zebulon Pike, an Army officer and explorer who attempted but failed to summit.

8. Pyramid Peak – 14,025 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Pyramid Peak, CO.

Another mountain that makes it easy to see how it got its name, when viewed from the proper angle, Pyramid Peak resembles a pyramid.

9. Quandary Peak – 14,271 feet

This mountain has a funny story behind its namesake, coming down to a few confused miners. After finding a mineral sample on it’s slopes during the 1960s and being unable to identify it despite much debate, they found themselves in a “quandary”, thus “ Quandary Peak” was born.


10. Redcloud Peak – 14,041 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

Redcloud Peak, CO. Photo Credit: Pierce Martin.

Similar to the way the Maroon Bells were named, Redcloud Peak gets its name from the stunning red coloring found on its slopes.

11. San Luis Peak – 14,022 feet

How the 14ers Got Their Names [Part 4]

San Luis Peak, CO. Photo Credit: Jeff Mitton.

While it can’t be said with 100% certainty, many assume that San Luis Peak is named for the valley beneath it, the San Luis Valley.

Curious about more 14ers? Keep on reading through the links below:

[Part 1] Blanca Peak – Handies Peak

[Part 2] Humboldt Peak – Mount Bross

[Part 3] Mount Columbia – Mount Princeton

[Part 5] Snowmass Mountain – Windom Peak


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.