The 18th Annual Powder Awards kick off the first weekend of the Winter Dew Tour in Breckenridge. As the longest-running and one of the most prestigious ski award events, the epic night will feature the best in ski photography, cinematography, and athletic achievement. New this season are the Moving Mountain Awards, which will be awarded to influential individuals doing humanitarian work enriching the “long-term health of skiing.”

With more than 50 entries in 13 categories, a panel of qualified judges, including pro skiers, photographers, filmmakers, journalists, and other ski industry vets have named 2017’s winners. Categories include Movie of the Year, Best Documentary, Best Post Production, Best Female and Male Performance, Best Short Film, Best Air, Best Line, Best Jib, Best Powder, and more.

Powder Awards Gallery. Photo: David Reddick
Powder Awards. Photo: David Reddick, courtesy of Powder Magazine.

Come and see which top three women and men will win the annual Powder Poll of Favorite Skier. In the running for Best Female Performance are Tatum Monod, Michelle Parker, Elyse Saugstad, and Lexi Dupont. For Best Male Performance the nominees include Kye Petersen, Sammy Carlson, Nick McNutt, and Marcus Eder. Dozens of nominated athletes will be attending in hopes of taking home an envied Powder Award. Some of this year’s nominees for the cinematography and short films are crowd favorites, Level 1, Faction, Matchstick Productions, Sherpas Cinemas, Switchback Entertainment, and DPS.

Spend a night celebrating snow stars and some of the best art in the ski world, and don’t miss the best in skiing this Thursday, December 14, 2017, at 8 p.m. at the Riverwalk Center.. Tickets are on sale for $12 per person. Proceeds will benefit the High Five Foundation, helping to support action-sports athletes who have suffered life-altering injuries.

For those looking for the VIP experience, come to the Pre-Powder Awards Whisky Tasting starting at 5 p.m. The five-flight tasting features award-winning whisky and bourbon from High West, the Distiller of the Year. A ticket includes a tasting with small complimentary food pairings, a VIP gift bag, and a VIP ticket to the awards ceremony with an exclusive happy hour and red-carpet access. Tickets for the tasting are $50 and can be purchased online.

What We Believe

We are driven by our deep respect for our environment, and our passionate commitment to sustainable tourism and conservation. We believe in the right for everyone - from all backgrounds and cultures - to enjoy our natural world, and we believe that we must all do so responsibly. Learn More